It was discovered during the construction of Rue Monge between 1860-1869.
A few intellectuals of the time initiated by Victor Hugo started up a preservation committee called la Societe des Annis des Arenes to undertake the preservation of the site.
|one of the 5 entrances to the Arenes|
|Walkway down to the Arenes|
|Was an incredible experience to just sit here and think back in time.|
|Was a beautiful and peaceful view walking out of the Arenes. Couldn't help but think what a magic spot to live. It was just so quiet yet in the middle of Paris in such significant spot.|